Published on May 13th, 2020 | by University Communications


Pi Mu Epsilon math honor society chapter chartered, inducts new members

Saint Leo hosted the installation its new chapter and inducted new members of the Pi Mu Epsilon mathematics honor society on April 22. Faculty advisor Dr. Jacquelyn White, professor of mathematics, coordinated efforts to establish the 405th chapter, Florida Mu,  with student and chapter president Caitlin Walsh. Dr. Angela Spalsbury, dean and chief academic officer at Kent State University and previous president of the honor society, hosted the event which was also Pi Mu Epsilon’s first long-distance installation in its history. 

The charter members of Pi Mu Epsilon, Florida Mu chapter, are mathematics department faculty members Dr. Jacquelyn White, Dr. Monika Kiss, and Dr. Kevin Murphy. Student charter members are Caitlin Walsh (charter student president), Patrick Berry, Eduardo Martinez, Christian Silva, and Phillip Waitkevich. Seven additional students met the high academic induction requirements including Victor Bague, Melissa Coates, Anthony Fontana, Christine Potthast, Kristen Russell, Christopher Snyder, and Meghan Tapia.

Congratulations to the 12 student and three faculty member honorees!

Founded in 1914, Pi Mu Epsilon is a national mathematics honor society with more than 350 chapters at universities across the United States. The honor society’s purpose to promote and recognize mathematical scholarship in postsecondary institutions. 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Back to Top ↑